23.05.2020 13:45 Uhr
Top duo emerge out of 293 candidates 

Canada sends 'Joshfearless13' and 'hswertha23' into the race

by Niklas Aßfalg/Christian Bellinger

The two Canadian qualifying tournaments produced two deserved winners and representatives for the playoffs of the IIHF Esports Fan Championship on Thursday evening.  

A total of 293 players competed on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One for tickets to the playoff round of the IIHF Esports Fan Championship. The honour of representing Canada in the playoffs against the 15 competing nations was given to Joshua 'Joshfearless13' Deri and Karl 'hswertha23' Caslib. 

'Joshfearless13' had eight games to play on the PS4, starting with a 5:1 win over 'SauceBossQC'. This was followed by high-scoring encounters against 'NightJay23' (10:4) and 'Ginger' (7:5) and a 6:0 win over 'Gwood_Boys'. Deri seemed to improve during the tournament, beating 'AXENSTAR' in the round of the best 16 with 10:1, but from the quarterfinals-onwards the games became tighter, defeating 'Geimer' (2:1) and 'Pr0-Bak' (4:3) on the way to the final with only one goal difference. In the final, 'Joshfearless13' finally defeated 'SafirSnipezGOLD' 4:2, becoming Canada’s PS4 national champion.  

His counterpart on the Xbox is 'hswertha23', who had less problems with Loïc 'Blouin' Blouin in the final winning by a score of 6:1. The quarterfinals also provided a small curiosity: 'Joshfearless13' had also tried his luck on the Microsoft console and the two evential national champs were in fact faced off against each other, with 'hswertha23' winning by a narrow margin of 3:2. The semifinal also turned out to be another tense matchup, Caslib finally defeated 'Stlt' 1:0. Scoring efficiency was the trademark of 'hswertha23': The opening game against 'CoreyPerry1', the encounter with 'Surepuma6755' and the game against 'Lingross' Caslib won 1:0 - 'hswertha23' conceded just three goals in six games.

In addition to advancing to the playoffs, the qualifier winners will each receive two tickets to see Team Canada at the 2021 Ice Hockey World Championship, 100 euros prize money and an IIHF Esports Fan Championship Puck.