19.05.2020 12:00 Uhr
The playoff participants have been determined

'Evgeniy Gavrilov' and 'Dias' represent Kazakhstan

by Christian Bellinger/Alexander Maier

Kazakh representatives Askar 'Evgeniy Gavrilov' Yedgebayev and Dias 'Dias' Imanshapikh were the first two playoff participants of the 2020 IIHF Esports Fan Championship on Friday. 

The ice hockey fans from Kazakhstan were the first on Friday afternoon to represent their country on the virtual ice rink of EA SPORTS™' NHL™ 20 in the course of the 2020 IIHF Esports Fan Championship. On the Xbox One, 'SamArar' actually prevailed, but is not eligible for the playoffs because he is not a citizen of Kazakhstan and therefore not eligible according to the rules. 'Dias', who was actually eliminated in the semi-finals, will take over. In direct comparison with the other World Championship nations, he will not be left on his own: In the playoff phase the countries will be represented by one Xbox One and PlayStation 4 player.

Accordingly, 'Evgeniy Gavrilov', winner of the PS4 qualifier, can look forward to a ticket to the next round. After winning the first two games 3-0, he conceded the first goals in the semi-final 6-2 win over Murat 'Kazakh_boy' Bekeyev, but he still managed to win the game. He was determined to maintain this aplomb in the final, where Evgeniy Gavrilov won 4-2 against Nursultan ‘nursofthekz’ Issabekov. Both qualifier winners not only entered the playoffs but will also each receive two tickets to see Kazakhstan compete in a game of the 2021 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship, an IIHF Esports Fan Championship Puck and 100 euros prize money.